Arc 1 of Dark City is Out

Finally managed to finish editing that chapter, I have no idea why it took so long because I don’t remember too many changes, but I did need to change the tone and style of it slightly since it was a work that I had done a couple of years ago focusing on another aspect of the city. That’s right, this has been years off and on in the making, more off than on though. That’s one of the problems with my creative process is that I start a lot of projects, but then my scatterbrained mind just drags me to a different one. Which is why I’ve been trying to change it up here by giving it multiple projects to work on at once so I don’t burn myself out on one particular series and not want to touch it for another six months.

Now there was a reason that I posted today rather than yesterday, and it was intentional this time, I swear. I had my first Dungeons and Dragons session with my new group, and wanted to share the experience with you all. So I’m Dungeon Mastering this one, and writing it, and helped to create a lot of the characters, since a couple of them haven’t had too much experience with the game before. Initially I tried to make it a more serious setting with a lot of grim themes going on, then the first person came to me with their character and I almost cried.

I wanted to give them complete freedom on who they wanted to be with their classes, races and backgrounds as well as their names. In hindsight for any prospective DM’s out there, don’t give your friends free reign over their naming process. So when I messaged the first person about what character they wanted to play, this was their literal response: “I want to be a manwhore who just goes around getting laid.” Honestly, not the worst, since then I’ve gotten a bard who can only remember songs by using puns and a Gnomish Fighter… A GNOMISH FIGHTER. The tank in the party is half as tall as the Dragonborn Rogue with double their health.

So here we were, and I don’t think my world was ever truly ready for the descent of Fearan the druid (with a lot more accents in his name than my keyboard or even, I suspect, WordPress has) Warrick the Fighter, Kazooma the bard (whose instruments are the kazoo, the vuvuzela and the triangle), Bryan Goosling the fourth who is rogue noble, Bigus Dickus the sorcerer, and Skinny Penis who also happens to be a rogue (you know, the meme). Next time I’m going to make sure their characters have actual names. But the worst part of it though is that skinny has a fully fleshed out backstory, while all we know of Kazooma is that he has a rival who stole his vuvuzela.

In any case, they set out at an abysmally slow pace (not that I’m complaining since I haven’t written most of the campaign yet) mostly due to their idle banter. Skinny tried to show off by intimidating some kids, rolled a one and ended up getting pick-pocketed instead, I’ll let you guys figure that one out, and almost completely turned down a side quest because they felt it was a little too much out of their way, which is something that I might need to work on.

Then we got to the fight. The first fight of the campaign. This was completely unbalanced since I had no idea how this party would fight as a group. The situation could have been resolved in two ways. Essentially a group of bandits were trying to waylay the group and demand gold from them in order to proceed. The group could have given them the gold and moved on taking all of the experience, or they could fight it out with some intermediary dialogues to allow for a cheaper pass or more expensive. What really happened was one of the guys turned around at the sound of the voice, saw that they were armed and instantly loosed an arrow because of that, initiating the combat.

We’re still in the middle of it, only one round through, but here is the tl;dr. The first arrow missed, the leader of the bandits charged, instantly got skewered by two rapiers for max damage while another of the party cut another bandit down in technically one hit. The bandits then proceeded to mob the sorcerer to bring him down to one health (after he cast mage armour on himself as well, I’m still feeling a little guilty about that) and the archers are having a duel.

Anyway, I’m hoping to schedule another, more regular session to take place, so there will probably be more highlights from the DnD session to come in the later weeks. Here is a link to Dark City, and I am going to go to sleep.

 

Leave a Reply

