Motivation

So I haven’t been as active as I would have liked to have been over the past few weeks. I’ve noticed that I keep saying I want to post more etc. but when it comes down to it, I just keep finding a lack of motivation. I don’t know why but whenever I sit down to just get stuff done I always find myself looking for something to distract myself with, which is pretty annoying since I don’t want to, but something in my head just doesn’t want to do work. It is an issue that I need to work through, and I will in time, but at the moment I just wanted to explain why I hadn’t been as active as promised.

Though with that all done I wanted to continue on with something a lot more lighthearted, like the dungeons and dragons campaign I was DMing for my friends. So far I believe it has been going well, everyone is enjoying themselves and they have been moving along the campaign relatively smoothly. I have found that they’re a lot more orientated to fighting battles rather than negotiating and such, but I hope to change that slowly as they get used to the game since for half of them this is the first campaign they’ve actually played. Either way, I just want to make it as enjoyable as possible for them while still keeping it challenging enough to make them care about the safety of their characters rather than just running in mindlessly.

That being said, the previous session was a little… odd. It wasn’t really bad, got a good little bit of plot development and highlighting some certain issues that need to be addressed. One of them was cursed by a cult and he’s starting to succumb to it, which is very interesting to see him act true to a character rather than just acting as the player would. It makes for a very fun session as I try my damnedest to pull him down into the darkness while everyone else around the table just give cries of anguish as they watch the inevitable unfold before them. The odd part about it, though, was that they made close to zero progress. And this wasn’t because they were  having a character building session, but because they literally walked in a circle.

You see, the area that they are in at the moment is a cursed forest which is layered in four stages. The session before they had made it to the second stage and camped there. Unfortunately before night fell, two of them wanted to go hunting… in a cursed forest. As you might be able to guess it didn’t turn out so well. I rolled an encounter, which was a swarm of corrupted Ravens, who had a random modifier of being covered in spines that hurt the players as they attacked them. A chase ensued during which they fell into a puddle because of a large amount of continuous failed skill checks.

After that they slept for the night,  had an encounter since they slept in a dangerous area when they woke up before going backwards in order to find an NPC which they felt they needed the help from in order to find the location of the object they were searching for. Now that they are back on track, though, it will be very interesting to see how they deal with the more dangerous corrupted creatures now that they’re heading into the deeper parts of the forest.

Aside from that, though, I think I’m all done for now. Feels good once in a while to just explain happenings and to rationalise it in  my own mind. Maybe sometime soon I’ll put down some more thoughts on the world that they’re adventuring in just to help myself flesh it  out a bit more, or I might even talk about my plans for some future adventures for when they’re finished with this one since I believe it will actually be finishing up soon. Level 4 being the benchmark for when they should finish.

Leave a Reply

